Unit 11 – My promotion and presentation techniques

As I learnt from my research into marketing techniques, it’s important to be active on social media as a filmmaker, in order to promote your work and gain a following. The first site I have set up is a Facebook page and this is where I will focus most of my efforts into marketing myself. The reason I’ve chosen Facebook as my main platform is because I have more followers on my private on there than on any other social media and therefore have more people to invite to like my film page. Facebook pages also have a far more professional look than say, a Twitter or Instagram account, as they are specially designed for business use, so give you the option to add email addresses, phone numbers and links to other sites.

This is the information I’ve chosen to add to my FaceBook page. The key part was to link my Vimeo page as that’s where people can view all my work and I’ve also added in my Email address. As you can see, I’ve created a Gmail account specifically for film. I did this because it shows a professional attitude, it’s easy to hand out if ever people ask for an Email and it keeps all my film work separate from general emails and spam so that no important emails get lost in the feed.

 

On the very front of your page you can choose what kind of button you want there.

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 11.27.21 AM

I chose the send message button, so that if anyone is interested in working with me or wants to ask me to make a film for them, they can quickly and easily contact me.

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 11.35.59 AM

 

 

In addition to that, I’ve set up an automated reply that pops up as soon as someone sends me a message. Again, it’s all about appearing professional and by receiving a message straight away, the person will feel recognised and assured that their message has got through.

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 11.23.28 AM

Screen Shot 2017-03-09 at 9.56.16 AM

 

In terms of telling people about my myself, this is what I’ve written. The ‘about’ section is the first thing people will read when they go on my page, so I kept it short and to the point. Originally it was “aspiring cinematographer”, however I took out aspiring, because it sounds more professional. The ‘story’ is something people can click on if they want to find out more about who I am. I made sure to add WorldSkills in there as it shows that I am a capable filmmaker.

The biography is something that I will use on all platforms, including my Vimeo page.

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 11.05.14 AM

All my information for my Vimeo is the same as on my Facebook and as you can see at the bottom, I’ve added a link to my Facebook page. That link is the start of me building up my online web of links and as I move to more platforms, like Twitter, I can add these in.

Screen Shot 2017-03-08 at 11.06.54 AM

For my actual page, I’ve tried to choose thumbnails for my films that show my composition and colouring skills, as I’ve labelled myself as a cinematographer and need to prove that I know what I’m doing. If the film has a title, I made that the thumbnail, because I feel like you can tell a lot about a person’s work aesthetic by their choice in font type and colour.

If there’s one thing I’d like to change about my Facebook and Vimeo, it’s the profile picture. Currently, that’s the only photo that shows me doing anything vaguely film related, but it’s not the most obvious picture. I’d eventually like to create my own recognisable logo, but for now I have two choices. either I use a shot from one of my films as a profile picture, or I get someone to take a close up picture of me with a camera. It depends on whether I want my face to be part of my brand or not. Keeping my face out of it all might look more professional, however I like the idea of having my face in it. It connects me to my name and gives it a more personable feel.

My next step in my marketing process is to create a website. On my website, as well as having all my main films, a biography and links to my social media, I’m considering also adding in a blog page, where I can upload weekly, or at least bi-weekly blog posts. These will range from updates on current projects I’m working on, discussing film technology/filming techniques/specific filmmakers and reviewing films. The aim of the blog is to keep me in the loop of the goings-on in the film industry so I always remain in the know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

