“Alone” -Opening sequence Evaluation

I struggled a fair amount when editing the footage for this, and there are many things I want to change about the finished film.

Finished film – Alone

The reason I struggled so much was because all the shots we got were so individual. They each told the story themselves but there was no real plot, nothing to link them together. Now that I have the benefit of hindsight, I understand that only using one or two of the strongest shots would have been a better decision than trying to get a story out of them, because really, all we were trying to do was to create a feeling of loneliness and hopelessness, not a film with an actual plot. However, my problem was that I liked almost all of the shots we got and I was desperate to get as many in a possible, so I ended up getting too caught up in the editing, trying to fit them together. In the future, I must learn to be more assertive and particular when picking the shots to put into my films. Even if i really like a certain shot, if I can’t make it fit, I can’t use it.

For example, this shot from my short film:

film prt scrn busy corridorThere was really no need for this shot to be in the final film, it adds nothing to it. Already I’d established that the building, and especially the corridor, are linked with the character. Already I had shown the separation between him and the rest of society, through the use of the close up shot of his face. Already I had conveyed a feeling of invisibility through the use of the shot outside in the rain. Every emotion I had said during planning I wanted to get across to the viewer, was already in there. When I was editing, I argued in my head that this shot was reinforcing the idea of him being invisible in his life in case the previous shots seemed unconnected, and by introducing the corridor a third time I was showing that it was definitely a focus point in the film. But in reality, I just didn’t want to let go of the shot because we’d spent so long getting it set up and finding people to participate. This is absolutely not the way to think when editing and it has shown me that I cannot do it in future.

Had I the chance to do it again I would have used this shot. I feel like it tells you everything you need to know about the character and his life. The metal railing physically separates him from everyone else, as well as suggesting a metaphorical barrier, showing clearly that he’s an outsider. The fact that he’s got his hand resting on the rail suggests that maybe he is aware that he has created this separation and is trying to cross it, but then you realise how easy it would actually be for him to get past it. He could go under or over it, or simply just reach across it towards someone to get their attention, and this makes you think that maybe he is purposefully not trying too hard, because he prefers his life of solitude and finds it easier to deal with. I regret choosing to leave this shot out, because I think that this, coupled with the outside shot would have been enough.

One more thing I think is worth mentioning is the title.

film prt scrn title

I knew that for the title to blend in, it needed to be a cold colour, and I think choosing grey was the right idea because the majority of the colour that is filling the frame is grey. However, I think a lighter grey would have been more suited. Not too light so it becomes invisible against the background, but one that at least slightly matches with the wall behind it. This grey is too rich and almost too blue. Also, I’ not sure the font is quite right. I wanted one that was plain and simple, but I think this one goes too far. It is almost boring to look at and doesn’t stand out at all. I think I prefer fonts that have some sort of character to them, something subtle that makes them unique and interesting, without being over-dramatic.

Despite my general unhappiness with this film, I am actually quite pleased with the music choice. When searching for some fitting music, I felt like I had to wade through so many piano pieces to find one that was any good. While piano music is the obvious choice when looking for a sad song, putting them in felt too generic and cliche. I also thought that the piano was overly complicated and invasive. Instead of blending in to the video to make it a whole product, the music took over and stood out as the main focus, taking away from from the footage and other sounds in the video, such as the noise of the rain during the outside shots. IN the end I went for this simple flute piece. I liked the way it only use a few notes and each one was long and sustained. It fitted with the long shots I used in this, and dragged them out for longer. By making time pass slower, it suggested the idea that the character is tired of living life like this, and each day seems to last an eternity.

Another thing I liked was the way this scene turned out:

film prt scrn outsideIt was just as I expected it to be.The colour of his top matches the window, and the colour of his trousers match the wall, meaning he is camouflaged into his surroundings. Add in the cars passing in front of him and the fact that he is placed off centre in the frame, and he becomes almost completely irrelevant to the shot, which is exactly what I wanted to happen. I also think the blue colour is effective, because I learned from this scene in Harry Potter that the filter on a shot can effect the mood of the audience, and the blue makes it cold and drained of emotion.

This entry was posted in Film 4: Opening Scene "Alone". Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Alone” -Opening sequence Evaluation

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    Excellent evaluation, Kitty, showing a strong awareness of the issues involved in the brief. I’m particularly pleased to see very good reflections on what hasn’t been as successful as you wanted—this shows an excellent understanding. Well done! It’s also terrific to connect your evaluation to the broader process, right back to your first research—well done. It’s also worth saying that your film shows some advanced editing techniques (with the overlays), and it’s fantastic to see you experimenting with what Premiere can do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

