Out of Order – Short Film Evaluation 08.10.15

The film: Out of Order
The editing

I wanted to use the editing to build up the suspense along with the music, by always cutting back to Kayla’s face, like in this scene from The Woman in Black. However, I ended up not doing this because I didn’t have enough space, as the film couldn’t be more than a minute. I feel like this may have ruined the tension a little because instead of the shots getting progressively faster, the lengths of the clips are fairly random and this slightly ruins the pace.Looking back at the film, there are many shots that I could easily have cut a few seconds off. All I needed to do was cut one or two seconds off a few clips and i could have given myself an extra ten seconds.

However, I am grateful for the few extra close shots that we decided to get on the day.

foot close up prt schand close up prt schigh shot prt sc

When I first began editing the film, I stuck closely to the shot list and roughly placed the clips in order on the timeline so I could organise my thoughts and get an idea of what the final product would look like. I immediately noticed that some of the clips were way too long and dragged out, and it meant the film didn’t flow properly. This showed me the benefit of splicing in close shots, as they give you a fresh angle and can be used to highlight anything that might be important, such as the close shot of the eyes to show fear.

The music/sound

Personally, I am pleased with my music and sound effect choices in this short film. I put a lot more effort into fitting the clips to the music than I did for the previous film, and this means that I ended up with little moments like the sound cutting out when Kayla jumps down from the windowsill. I used this shot as a tension breaker. Cutting out the tense build up music signifies the change in the character’s thought process as she decides to stop being frightened of something she can’t even see, and I needed to do this as the clip isn’t enough to explain this character development and if I hadn’t cut out the music the story line wouldn’t have been as clear. I have started trying to use the music as another way to tell the story, rather than just as a novelty in the background.

The main reason I am happy with the music/sound effects is because they flow much more smoothly, and the way I was able to do this was by using key frames. Key frames are points that you can put on video or audio clips in your timeline. You can move these points up or down to increase or decrease certain factors, opacity and volume being the main ones.

Stopwatch-Depressed-and-First-Keyframe-Created

Learning to use key frames meant that I could fade music in and out, which allowed me to switch between different music as well as fading in  sound effects. The benefit of this is that it takes away the sharpness of the audio so you can bring in music without the viewers really noticing.

I did have to deviate away from our original plan though. As you can see in our shot list in a previous post, we had already planned out all the noises and sound effects that were necessary to the plot. However, once I had added them all in and watched the film, I realise that, for me, they didn’t quite work. Near the beginning, the woman looks under the cubicle door, and it was going to be because she thought it was strange that a toilet was flushing in a supposedly empty cubicle. The problem was that the narrative didn’t quite make sense because there didn’t seem to be enough happening for her to have that reaction. So instead I added in the whispering, which is something less explainable. The point of a film is that everything is supposed to be unnoticeable to the viewer and they have to be able to watch it without questioning the narrative, music choice or sound. Everything has to blend in together to seem completely natural, so if they are too busy questioning why she bothered to look under the door, then it doesn’t work in the film. The best way to avoid this is to get multiple pairs of fresh eyes to read over the script, set list, or even watch the unfinished film. If they weren’t there during planning and shooting, try won’t know the plot, so they can give an unbiased opinion.

All in all, I am fairly happy with this short film. Since the last film I have learned how to use the editing software more confidently so was able to cut and swap clips quickly to see which shots flowed better. I feel like our group worked well together and we shared out our research as well as the filming on set.

This entry was posted in Film 2: Toilet Film "Out of Order". Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out of Order – Short Film Evaluation 08.10.15

  1. kendalcollegefilm says:

    This is fantastic, Kitty—very well done. You have thoroughly evaluated the success of your work, tracing a cohesive path through your ideas, shoot and edit to the finished piece. You have examined principles of filmmaking in theoretical and practical detail, and that makes this a strong piece of work—excellent.

    Like

Leave a Reply

